IISER Pune
INDIAN INSTITUTE OF SCIENCE EDUCATION AND RESEARCH (IISER) PUNE
where tomorrow’s science begins today
An Autonomous Institution, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India
Outreach
Links
Disha 

Disha

About

In 2010, a few students of IISER started an Abhyasika for the children of a colony near the campus. Seven years later this small venture grew to become DISHA - an ever expanding platform for an IISERite to set and work towards goals of socioeconomic equity. At DISHA we do not undermine the potential of a student volunteer’s will in shaping social reform for the nation. Education is the most crucial tool for empowerment and DISHA tries to do its bit in making this available to the marginalised. With this in mind we run several programs:

Our Activities

Regular Activities     Yearly Activities

Resource Team

Contact Us:

Team Disha
Team Disha

Email: disha@sac.iiserpune.ac.in

General Coordinators: Mitali Thatte (mitali.thatte@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

                                    Reema Jamal (reema.nassar@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

                                    Vaibhav Ingale (vaibhav.ingale@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

Our Collaborators:

Click here for our magazine: Pahal

 

Abhyasika

Abhyasika is DISHA’s original initiative and still remains one of our most challenging programs. Every day Abhyasika volunteers try to bridge the gap between the children of Lamanvasti and the world outside. On the floor of a battered community centre, the students huddle around our volunteers and we teach them math, sciences and anything they want to learn about under the sun.

Kids at the Abhyasika   Kids at the Abhyasika

Time:5:45 pm to 7:45 pm

Days: Monday to Friday

Place: Sanjay Gandhi Vasahat, Laman Vasti

Coordinators: Mohan Karra (mohan.karra@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

                      Mansi Budamagunta (mansi.budamagunta@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

                      Aasim Saifee (aasim.saifee@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

 

Mind Spark

Not every child gets a fair shot at tackling the hurdles presented by exams. Mindspark tries to improve the chances of students of Pune Municipal Corporation schools at competitive exams so as to open doors to more opportunities. Mindspark volunteers help 7th standard students grasp concepts and later solve worksheets on the same.

Time: 12:30 pm to 4:00 pm on Saturday; 11:00 am to 2:00 pm on Sunday

Place: LHC, IISER Pune

Coordinators: Purva Joshi (purva.joshi@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

                      Rakshitha (rakshitha.t@students.iiserpune.ac.in

                      Ashutosh Jangle (ashutosh.jangle@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

 

Science Nurture Program

Science Nurture Program aims to popularise Science among secondary school students in as attractive a way as possible. With the help of well designed sessions and hands on activities, we hope to take students beyond science as a subject and embrace it as a way of thinking. This programme is supported by Rashtriya Avishkar Abhiyan (http://mhrd.gov.in/rashtriya-avishkar-abhiyan).

Time: 11:00 am to 3:30 pm

Day: Sunday

Place: LHC, IISER Pune

Coordinators: Jitesh Seth (jitesh.seth@students.iiserpune.ac.in

                      Ankur Panchal (ankur.panchal@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

 

Prerna

The goals of our latest venture, Prerna, align with those of Mindspark. Volunteers of Prerna aid students with limited opportunitiesto prepare for 11th and 12th standard exams. With our volunteers’ consistent dedication, we hope to equip these students to ace entrance exams that will shape their careers.

Time: 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

Day: Sunday

Place: LHC, IISER Pune

Coordinators: Abhijit Pendse  (abhijeet.pendse@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

                      Dnyanesh Dubal (dnyanesh.dubal@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

 

 

Talk for Twenty

Intelligent conversation on matters of social relevance is important to make a student community better citizens of the future. DISHA tries to do the same for students of IISER with Talk for Twenty. The programme began with 20 minute talks by students on topics they find important and now professors, eminent speakers and other organisations have joined the conversation. Talk for Twenty happens throughout the year whenever there is a relevant topic and a speaker to address it.

Coordinator: Sriram Raghunath (sriram.raghunath@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

 

Spread the Smile

The greatest challenges of realising social reforms lie in India’s villages.DISHA’s volunteers take to villages around Pune, once in a year to remind themselves of this challenge. We reach out to village schools and stay over for a weekend to perform experiments and interact with the students. The volunteers get a taste of village life and the students get to see science practised through the eyes of the volunteers.

Spread the Smile Camp   Spread the Smile Camp

Time: January-February

Coordinators: Nikhil Gupta (nikhil.gupta@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

                      Bhakti Rout (bhakti.rout@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

 
Resource Team is the backbone of our programs, most Importantly for Spread the Smile. Before our volunteers take to villages, Resource Team volunteers try and test out experiments and keep ready all resources required for the program. Resource Team works throughout the year and helps manage all resources required in DISHA’s efforts to meet its goals.

Coordinators: Onkar Sadekar (onkar.sadekar@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

                    Hitesh Wankhede (hitesh.wankhede@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

                    Mohan Karra (mohan.karra@students.iiserpune.ac.in)

homecontent_pages