The top portion of the campus entrance gate showing IISER Pune logo

Academy Fellowships to three IISER Pune Scientists

Posted on
Share this article

In recognition of their contribution to the respective areas of research, three scientists at IISER Pune, Prof. Anjan Banerjee (Professor, Biology), Dr. Thomas Pucadyil (Associate Professor, Biology) and Dr. Seema Sharma (Associate Professor, Physics) are among those elected as Fellows of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru. 

Prof. Anjan Banerjee has also been elected a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India, which is based in Prayagraj (previously named Allahabad). 

Founded in 1934 and 1930 respectively, the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru and the National Academy of Sciences, India  are among the earliest science academies in India, along with the Indian National Science Academy based in New Delhi which was founded in 1935.

Induction of new Fellows to each of the academies occurs once a year through nomination and election and recognises the distinguished contributions of scientists working across India.

Congratulations to all three members and best wishes for their future endeavours!