To work without harassment is every individual's fundamental right. IISER Pune therefore believes in and practices a “ZERO TOLERANCE” and “GENDER EQUALITY” policy. Gender equality is achieved when women and men enjoy the same rights and opportunities across all sectors of society, including economic participation and decision-making, and when the different behaviors, aspirations and needs of women and men are equally valued and favored.

The INTERNAL COMMITTEE of IISER Pune [a statutory body constituted as per the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013] has been constituted in compliance with directives of the Supreme Court of India. Its objectives are to:

  • Uphold the dignity of women
  • To facilitate a gender-sensitive and congenial working environment free of gender-specific discrimination or sexual harassment
  • Ensure that victims and witnesses are not victimised or discriminated against because of lodging such complaints
  • Take proactive measures to educate the IISER Pune community about gender-sensitivity


For putting in a complaint or for any queries, please write to the Presiding Officer at or

Internal Committee

  • Mayurika Lahiri
    Associate Professor
    Presiding Officer
  • Kaneenika Sinha
    Associate Professor
  • Sudarshan Ananth
  • Preeti Karmarkar
    NGO, Pune
    External Member
  • Mrinalini Virkar
    Technical Officer
    Member Secretary
  • Srabanti Chaudhury
    Associate Professor
  • Shanti Kalipatnapu
    Principal Technical Officer
  • Suhas Ettammal
    Assistant Professor
  • Snehal Bhatia
    Student Representative