The top portion of the campus entrance gate showing IISER Pune logo

Swarnajayanti Fellowship to Three IISER Pune Faculty Members

Posted on
Share this article

Three scientists at IISER Pune, Dr. Angshuman Nag (Associate Professor, Chemistry), Dr. Anup Biswas (Associate Professor, Mathematics) and Dr. Rejish Nath (Associate Professor, Physics) are among those selected for the Department of Science and Technology (DST)’s Swarnajayanti Fellowships for 2019-20.

Dr. Angshuman Nag, Dr. Anup Biswas, Dr. Rejish Nath

Initiated to mark the fiftieth year of India’s independence, the Swarnajayanti Fellowships are awarded by the DST, Govt. of India to a very select number of scientists in the country, working in various frontier areas of science and technology. The award comprises a monthly fellowship received in addition to salary, and a yearly grant for research for five years. Additionally, the project proposals submitted by fellows are considered for funding by the Science & Engineering Research Board (SERB) as per norms.

Of this year’s 21 Swarnajayanti Fellowships, three have gone to scientists from IISER Pune working in diverse disciplines. The fellowships will support Dr. Angshuman Nag’s research on designing materials for light emitting diodes; work of mathematician Dr. Anup Biswas on controlled diffusion, queuing theory and potential theory; and Dr. Rejish Nath’s research on ultra-cold atoms and quantum many body physics.

Congratulations to all three members on their achievement and for bringing accolades to the institute!