The top portion of the campus entrance gate showing IISER Pune logo

Valedictory function for 2021 graduating students

Posted on
Share this article
IISER Pune held a valedictory function today (August 13, 2021) where the 2021 outgoing batch of students were congratulated and awardees were felicitated through an online event. A recording of the event is here

Dean (Academics) Prof. Bhas Bapat and Director and Chairperson of the Senate Prof. Jayant Udgaonkar addressed the students and announced the awardees.

A total of 82 BS-MS students, 19 Integrated PhD students, and 30 PhD students graduated this year. Further, 7 students graduated with a BS degree and 5 students from the Integrated PhD programme graduated with an MS degree. 

Twenty-one BS-MS students received their degrees with Distinction (CGPA >9.0). Four graduating PhD students were presented with the Xytel Best PhD Thesis Awards. Abhishek Mishra and Nasrina Parvin bagged the award in Biology and Chemistry, respectively, while Sayali Bhatkar and Avirup De shared the Award in Physics. These awards to recognise research excellence have been instituted since 2018 with support from Xytel and carry a medal and a certificate along with a cash prize.
Some of the award announcements have been deferred to the next year. One nomination each that were received from Earth and Climate Science and Mathematics best PhD thesis award will be considered in the next year’s award nominations. The best outgoing student award and the best MS thesis awards for BS-MS students are deferred until all registered students have completed their MS theses. 
Addressing the graduating students, Director Prof. Udgaonkar wished that their training at IISER Pune has helped them understand their strengths and interests and has prepared them for careers in research and beyond and for lifelong learning. The awardees also shared their observations and expressed gratitude to the mentors they have had at IISER Pune.   
We congratulate all graduating students and the awardees! We wish them the best in their future endeavours.