where tomorrow’s science begins today
An Autonomous Institution, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India
About Us
Internal Leadership 

IISER Pune believes in operating on collective wisdom and active participation of all stakeholders.
Various committees steer the development and execution of the institute's activities, in keeping with IISER Pune's Vision. The committees are periodically reconstituted to widen participation, bring in new ideas and develop leadership.
The institute follows the following policy regarding internal leadership:
  1. The term of office for Chairs of Departments, Deans, Deputy Chairs, Associate Deans is for 3 years.
  2. There is a Deputy Chair for each of the departments existing for 5 years or more.
  3. The Director appoints the Chairs/Deputy Chairs through consultations with faculty members of respective departments. These appointments are NOT based on seniority or any hierarchy. A second term is possible for the holders of these posts in exceptional cases.
  4. The sharing of various administrative responsibilities in each department is worked out jointly by the Chair and the Deputy Chair.
  5. As far as possible, the operative policy is one-person-one post. Certain exceptions may be allowed.
  6. In terms of the membership, every attempt is made to give representation across the departments in various committees.
  7. All faculty members are encouraged to accept memberships and responsibilities of the committees, as we believe that all beneficiaries are obliged to contribute in the functioning of the institute.
Following is a list of the committees that direct the various activities of IISER Pune, along with their current members:
  • APEX Committee (This committee comprised of senior professors of the institute, takes major institute/academic policy decisions including appointment of distinguished / visiting faculty, etc)
  1. Prof. Jayant B. Udgaonkar, Director (Ex-officio) - Chairperson
  2. Prof. Sunil Mukhi, Dean (Faculty)
  3. Prof. Sanjeev Galande, Dean (R&D) - Member
  4. Prof. Bhas Bapat, Dean (Academics) - Member
  5. Prof. Harinath Chakrapani, Dean (International Relations and Outreach) - Member
  6. Dr. Shivprasad Patil, Dean (Student Activities) - Member
  7. Dr. Thomas Pucadyil, Chair, Biology - Member
  8. Prof. Gopi Hosahudya N., Chair, Chemistry - Member
  9. Dr. Amit Hogadi, Chair, Mathematics - Member
  10. Prof. Tarun Souradeep, Chair, Physics - Member
  11. Dr. Devapriya Chattopadhyay, Chair, Earth and Climate Science
  12. Dr. Pushkar Sohoni, Chair, Humanities & Social Sciences - Member
  13. Mr. Manoj Chaudhari, PS to Director - Non-memeber Secretary
  • Department-wise Chairs and Deputy Chairs:
Biology - Chair: Dr. Thomas Pucadyil; Deputy Chair: Dr. Sudha Rajamani
Chemistry - Chair: Prof. Gopi Hoshahudya N; Deputy Chair: Dr. Shabana Khan
Earth and Climate Science - Chair: Dr. Devapriya Chattopadhyay
Humanities and Social Sciences - Chair: Dr. Pushkar Sohoni
Mathematics - Chair: Dr. Amit Hogadi;  Deputy Chair: Dr. Anup Biswas
Physics - Chair: Prof. Tarun Souradeep; Deputy Chair: Prof. T. S. Mahesh
  • Deans (See our Deans page for Details)           
Research and Development: Prof. Sanjeev Galande; Associate Dean: Prof. S. G. Srivatsan
Academics: Prof. Bhas Bapat
Associate Deans (Graduate Studies): Dr. Anirban Hazra; Dr. Arijit Bhattacharyay
Associate Deans (Doctoral Studies): Dr. Srabanti Chaudhury; Dr. Chandrasheel Bhagwat
Faculty: Prof. Sunil Mukhi; Associate Dean: Prof. Pinaki Talukdar
International Relations and Outreach: Prof. Harinath Chakrapani; Associate Dean: Dr. Sourabh Dube
Student Activities: Dr. Shivprasad Patil; Associate Dean: Dr. Suhita Nadkarni
  • Key Committees:
Chair, Curriculum Committee: Dr. Anirban Hazra
Chair, Purchase Committee: Prof. R. Boomi Shankar
Chief Vigilance Officer (CVO) [Part-time]: Prof. V. G. Anand (cvo[at]iiserpune.ac.in)
Chair, Institutional Committee on Administration: Prof. Anjan Banerjee