The top portion of the campus entrance gate showing IISER Pune logo

Internal Leadership

IISER Pune believes in operating on collective wisdom and active participation of all stakeholders. Various committees steer the development and execution of the institute's activities, in keeping with IISER Pune's Vision.

The committees are periodically reconstituted to widen participation, bring in new ideas and develop leadership.

The institute follows the following policy regarding internal leadership:

  • The term of office for Chairs of Departments, Deans, Deputy Chairs, Associate Deans is for 3 years.
  • There is a Deputy Chair for each of the departments existing for 5 years or more.
  • The Director appoints the Chairs/Deputy Chairs through consultations with faculty members of respective departments. These appointments are NOT based on seniority or any hierarchy. A second term is possible for the holders of these posts in exceptional cases.
  • The sharing of various administrative responsibilities in each department is worked out jointly by the Chair and the Deputy Chair.
  • As far as possible, the operative policy is one-person-one post. Certain exceptions may be allowed.
  • In terms of the membership, every attempt is made to give representation across the departments in various committees.
  • All faculty members are encouraged to accept memberships and responsibilities of the committees, as we believe that all beneficiaries are obliged to contribute in the functioning of the institute.


Following is a list of the committees that direct the various activities of IISER Pune, along with their current members:

Apex Committee

This committee comprised of senior professors of the institute and takes major institute/academic policy decisions, including those related to the appointment of distinguished/visiting faculty, etc.

  • Prof. Jayant B. Udgaonkar, Director (Ex-officio) - Chairperson
  • Prof. Pinaki Talukdar, Dean (Faculty) - Member
  • Prof. Anjan Banerjee, Dean (R&D)  - Member
  • Prof. Bhas Bapat, Dean (Academics) - Member
  • Prof. M.S. Santhanam, Dean (International Relations and Outreach) - Member
  • Prof. Saikrishnan Kayarat, Dean (Student and Campus Activities)- Member
  • Prof. Srinivas Hotha, Dean (Planning and Communications) and Chair, Institutional Committee on Administration (ICA) - Member
  • Prof. Thomas Pucadyil, Chair, Biology - Member
  • Prof. Gopi Hosahudya N., Chair, Chemistry - Member
  • Prof. Amit Apte, Chair, Data Science
  • Dr. Devapriya Chattopadhyay, Chair, Earth and Climate Science - Member
  • Dr. Pushkar Sohoni, Chair, Humanities and Social Sciences - Member
  • Prof. Mainak Poddar, Chair, Mathematics - Member
  • Prof. Sudarshan Ananth, Chair, Physics - Member
  • Mr. Manoj Chaudhari, PS to Director - Non-member Secretary

Department-wise Chairs and Deputy Chairs

  • Biology
    Chair: Prof. Thomas Pucadyil
    Deputy Chair: Dr. Sudha Rajamani
  • Chemistry
    Chair: Prof. Gopi Hoshahudya N
    Deputy Chair: Dr. Shabana Khan
  • Data Science
    Chair: Prof. Amit Apte
    Deputy Chair: Dr. Leelavati Narlikar
  • Earth and Climate Science
    Chair: Dr. Devapriya Chattopadhyay
    Deputy Chair: Dr. Gyana Ranjan Tripathy
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
    Chair: Dr. Pushkar Sohoni
    Deputy Chair: Dr. Chaitra Redkar
  • Mathematics
    Chair: Prof. Mainak Poddar
    Co-Chair: Dr. Anup Biswas
  • Physics
    Chair: Prof. Sudarshan Ananth
    Deputy Chair: Prof. T.S. Mahesh


  • Research and Development
    Dean: Prof. Anjan Banerjee
    Associate Dean: Dr. Nirmalya Ballav
  • Academics
    Dean: Prof. Bhas Bapat
    Associate Deans (Graduate Studies): Dr. Anirban Hazra; Dr. Arijit Bhattacharyay
    Associate Deans (Doctoral Studies): Dr. Srabanti Chaudhury; Dr. Chandrasheel Bhagwat
  • Faculty
    Dean: Prof. Pinaki Talukdar
  • International Relations and Outreach
    Dean: Prof. M.S. Santhanam
    Associate Dean: Dr. Sourabh Dube
  • Student and Campus Activities
    Dean: Prof. Saikrishnan Kayarat
    Associate Dean: Dr. Chaitra Redkar
  • Planning and Communications
    Dean: Prof. Srinivas Hotha

Key Committees and Faculty In-charge

  • Chair, Curriculum Committee
    Dr. Anirban Hazra
  • Chair, Purchase Committee
    Prof. R. Boomi Shankar
  • Chief Vigilance Officer (CVO) [Part-time]
    Prof. V. G. Anand (
  • Chair, Institutional Committee on Administration
    Prof. Srinivas Hotha
  • Faculty In-charge, Science Media Centre
    Dr. Arnab Mukherjee
  • Faculty In-charge, Science Activity Centre
    Dr. Aparna Deshpande