The top portion of the campus entrance gate showing IISER Pune logo

IISER Pune researchers among top 2 percent scientists for citation impact

Posted on
Share this article

In an update from September 2022, five scientists from IISER Pune are among a list of top 2% scientists created by a team of researchers led by Prof. John P. A. Ioannidis from Stanford University. The list is based on the career-long citation impact of research papers of scientists. 

In 2019, in a paper in PLOS Biology, Prof. John P. A. Ioannidis and team created a publicly available database of 100,000 top scientists with standardized information on citation metrics. In subsequent years, every year, the list is being updated to arrive at the list of top scientists for career-long and single-year impact, the latest update being in September 2022
A citation is a mention of a previously published paper, and is an indicator of how many fellow researchers have noticed a certain paper and found it relevant to mention or provide as a reference. Viewed from the perspective of the scientific field, number of citations is a measure of the impact of a certain paper published by a researcher over a period of time and has come to be an important measure of research outcomes.
The faculty members from IISER Pune on the list for career-long citation impact include Prof. Deepak Dhar and Prof. Satishchandra Ogale from the Department of Physics; Prof. Sujit K. Ghosh and Dr. Angshuman Nag from the Department of Chemistry; Prof. R.P. Singh, a former visiting faculty member at IISER Pune; and adjunct faculty member Prof. Sharachchandra Lele from the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences. 
Further, among the top 2% for citation impact in a single year, that of 2021, Prof. Deepak Dhar and Prof. Satishchandra Ogale from the Department of Physics; Prof. Sujit K. GhoshDr. Angshuman Nag, and Prof. Ramanathan Vaidhyanathan from the Department of Chemistry have been listed.
This news has been covered in the media here: Indian Express
Our congratulations to all our researchers on the list, and their respective team members, for their impactful work!