Representative image of a physics lab showing an optics set-up

Department of

Research Areas

Research Centres and Initiatives

Centre for Energy Science

Set up under the Department of Science and Technology's Nanomission, the Centre is comprised of a team of about 15-20 faculty members from the Physics and Chemistry Departments at IISER Pune who joined hands to perform cutting-edge research in this interdisciplinary field to develop applications with direct societal impact. Know more

Major Collaborations

Faculty members in the Physics department are involved in research work pertaining to following major research collaborations and consortia.


I-Hub Quantum Technology Foundation

The I-Hub Quantum Technology Foundation has been set up as a Section 8 company at IISER Pune, with support from Government of India's Department of Science and Technology. The I-Hub has been set up with the aim to develop quantum computers and novel quantum materials for day-to-day applications. Led by members from the Physics department of the institute, this hub will have participation from up to 13 research groups from the institute and will network with over 20 participating institutes from within the country and with several collaborators from foreign universities and institutions. Know more